Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Basford United Football Club app


First Team - Match centre

Loughborough Dynamo
Basford United
Full time
R Wiggins-Thomas (27' Pen)
Tue 25 Aug 19:45 - The Evo-Stik League Northern Premier - First Division South Attendance 87

Basford Battle To Win Over Dynamo


Basford United got back to winning ways on Tuesday evening, with a hard-fought 1-0 win over Loughborough Dynamo at the Nanpantan Sports Ground.

Video now online -

United manager Martin Carruthers made three changes up front, from the previous Saturday’s line-up, with Reuben Wiggins-Thomas, Stuart Hendrie and Tyrelle Shannon all being promoted to the starting eleven and Daryll Thomas, Corey Grantham and Blair Anderson dropping to the bench.

A first half of few chances for either side saw the stalemate finally broken on 27 minutes, after Shannon was brought down in the home penalty box, with Reuben Wiggins-Thomas despatching the resultant penalty for his first goal of the season.
Dion Meikle then worried the Loughborough keeper on two more occasions, with two well-placed lobs, in the final five minutes before the break.

Despite Loughborough losing their keeper through injury in the 60th minute and replacing him with a defender, United couldn’t add to their tally in the second half, with Stuart Hendrie coming the closest, when his header struck the crossbar

United then had to soak up some sustained pressure from the home side, where they struck Saul Deeney’s upright on two occasions but they hung on for victory and now return to Loughborough on Saturday afternoon (29th August), with Dynamo looking for revenge in the FA Cup Preliminary Round clash, with kick-off at 3pm.

Team: Deeney, Boafo, Meikle (c), Hollis, Darkin, McCormick, Hutchinson, Grayson (F. Smith), Wiggins-Thomas, Hendrie, Shannon (Grantham 75). Unused Subs: Fletcher, Thomas, Anderson. Att: 84.

BUFC Radio post-game interview with Reuben Wiggins-Thomas -

BUFC Radio post-game interview with Martin Carruthers -

Stuart Hendrie

Player of the Match

Stuart Hendrie

Key moments

Scored Penalty Reuben Wiggins-Thomas scores a penalty for Basford United
Replay game

As it happened

  • Loughborough Dynamo
  • Basford United
  • 0
  • Reuben Wiggins-Thomas Scored Penalty 27:00'
  • Tyrell Shannon-Lewis Sub Off 75:00'
  • Courey Grantham Sub On 75:00'
  • Ashley Grayson Sub Off 89:00'
  • Fabian Smith Sub On 89:00'

Team selection

Deeney, Saul Deeney, Saul
Boafo, David Boafo, David
Miekle, Dion Miekle, Dion
Wiggins-Thomas, Reuben Wiggins-Thomas, Reuben
Hollis, Jermaine Hollis, Jermaine
Darkin, Robert Darkin, Robert
McCormick, Rob McCormick, Rob
Grayson, Ashley Grayson, Ashley
Hendrie, Stuart Hendrie, Stuart
Shannon-Lewis, Tyrell Shannon-Lewis, Tyrell
Hutchinson, Ben Hutchinson, Ben
Basford United
  • 1. Saul Deeney
  • 2. David Boafo
  • 3. Dion Miekle
  • 4. Jermaine Hollis
  • 5. Robert Darkin
  • 6. Rob McCormick
  • 7. Ben Hutchinson
  • 8. Ashley Grayson
  • 9. Reuben Wiggins-Thomas
  • 10. Stuart Hendrie
  • 11. Tyrell Shannon-Lewis
  • 12. Fabian Smith
  • 13. Daniel Fletcher
  • 14. Darryl Thomas
  • 15. Courey Grantham
  • 16. Blair Anderson

League round up

Other First Division South results

Daventry Town
Gresley FC
Sheffield FC
Stocksbridge Park Steels


Loading comments

League table

# Team Pl Pts
1. Stafford Rangers 42 95
2. Shaw Lane Aquaforce 42 94
3. Coalville Town 42 85
4. Basford United 42 76
5. Lincoln United 42 74
6. Stocksbridge Park Steels 42 69
7. Chasetown 42 68

Team sponsors


Club sponsors